New Watch Setup and Problems

Moderators: garrywadams, Aathif Mahir

Post Reply
no avatar
kevinmoody91
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 11:36 am
Cash on hand: Locked

New Watch Setup and Problems

Post by kevinmoody91 » Wed Sep 09, 2020 11:55 am

Posting here to see if its just me or the watch-

Initially, I followed the instructions for set up, which guide to a Chinese language app (I'm in the US). After spending some time trying to figure out how to translate I found an English version on the Google play store. It scanned the qr to pair the device so I assume it worked but there are several aspects that don't seem to be linking.
1. the hours won't set to 12 hr vs 24, despite the setting in the app.
2. Temperature won't change from C to F, despite the setting in the app
3. Notifications only show just that, "1 new notification," they don't actually display the email or message.
3a. Despite providing permission to do to, texts don't notify me at all.

The marketing video/commercial on the website shows the full message, in most cases, should show on the watch, but it doesn't appear to be working with my device. Using a Pixel 3xl if that matters.

no avatar
mt643
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:14 pm
Cash on hand: Locked

Re: New Watch Setup and Problems

Post by mt643 » Fri Sep 11, 2020 5:23 pm

I also am having issues with temperature and screen on time. I change in the app it then works once or twice the goes back to default.

no avatar
cweb68
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2020 10:51 pm
Cash on hand: Locked

Re: New Watch Setup and Problems

Post by cweb68 » Sat Sep 12, 2020 3:24 pm

All the same issues for me... We need a software update! C'mon Mobvoi!

User avatar
Aathif Mahir
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 12:08 pm
Cash on hand: Locked
Bank: Locked

Re: New Watch Setup and Problems

Post by Aathif Mahir » Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:49 am

Hi, Friends

We are looking into these Issues, will update more details very soon. Everyone, Thanks for the feedback!

Aathif Mahir
Mobvoi Lead Moderator

no avatar
rkmullins
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 1:29 am
Cash on hand: Locked

Re: New Watch Setup and Problems

Post by rkmullins » Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:33 pm

Thank you Aathif.

no avatar
jt_mobvoi
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:16 pm
Cash on hand: Locked
Bank: Locked

Re: New Watch Setup and Problems

Post by jt_mobvoi » Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:44 pm

So far, my temperature units seem to be sticking. I did notice that changing the watch face timeout (how long it stays lit) reverted back to 5 seconds and I had to go into the app and change it from 15 to 5 and then back to 15 again to get it to stick.

no avatar
jt_mobvoi
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:16 pm
Cash on hand: Locked
Bank: Locked

Re: New Watch Setup and Problems

Post by jt_mobvoi » Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:40 pm

Minor update/correction: I also seem to lose the Fahrenheit setting when I update the watch face. After an update, I have to go back into the settings in the app and switch from F to C and back to F and then fix the screen lights ontime from 15seconds to 5seconds to 15seconds.

Another minor item that needs to be corrected throughout the app:
All numbers should be separated from all words by one space.

For instance, this: 15seconds should be this instead: 15 seconds

no avatar
jt_mobvoi
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:16 pm
Cash on hand: Locked
Bank: Locked

Re: New Watch Setup and Problems

Post by jt_mobvoi » Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:55 pm

Update 2: I figured out the bug a bit further.

Changing your temperature units makes it forget the screen on timeout setting and vice-versa. So you can either have 10 or 15 seconds on time or you can have Fahrenheit, not both, at least not yet. And to be clear, it is necessary to change from 15 seconds to 5, back out of the setting, then go back into the setting again to change it back to 15 seconds and then back out again one final time to get it to save to the watch. Same deal with temperature units.

So the bug is likely related to some kind of default array of settings that gets reset each time one of the values in the array of settings changes. Programmers, do your magic!

Post Reply